Our Board of Directors

The World Diabetes Foundation is governed by an independent Board of Directors comprised of six experts in the field of diabetes and access to health in developing countries. The Board convenes four times a year.
Anil Kapur
Chairman of the Board
Mike Rulis
Vice Chairman of the Board
Abdallah Daar
Member of the Board
Ida Nicolaisen
Member of the Board
Kaushik Ramaiya
Member of the Board
Frederik Kier Frederik Kier
Member of the Board
The first WDF Board was formed in 2002, comprising Chairman Prof. Sir George Alberti, Dr Ida Nicolaisen, Prof Ib Bygbjerg, Dr Anil Kapur and Mr Lars Rebien Sørensen.
Prof. Pierre Lefèbvre succeeded Sir Alberti, and served as the Chairman of the Foundation from 2003-2014. The current Chairman, Dr. Anil Kapur, was elected in March 2015.