26. Sep 2022

Tina Abild Olesen joins WDF Board of Directors

Tina Abild Olesen joins WDF Board of Directors

Gwendolyn Carleton
Ms Tina Abild Olesen joins the World Diabetes Foundation Board of Directors, replacing Ms Camilla Sylvest.

BAGSVÆRD, DENMARK – The World Diabetes Foundation today announces the constitution of a new Board of Directors. The Board consists of Dr Anil Kapur (Chair), Ms Tina Abild Olesen (Vice-chair), Ms Ida Nicolaisen, Dr Kaushik Ramaiya, Prof Abdallah Daar and Dr Stephen Gough. 
Ms Olesen is Senior Vice President, Diabetes, at Novo Nordisk A/S and based in Copenhagen, Denmark. She joined the company in 2009, serving in leadership roles in Scandinavia and Germany before moving to headquarters in 2019. As head of the newly created Diabetes unit, she will direct the company’s diabetes strategy and ambition, early planning, access, commercial strategies, launch preparations, and digital solutions. 

Prior to joining Novo Nordisk, Ms Olesen worked for GlaxoSmithKline Pharma (formerly Glaxo Wellcome) in Denmark.

Ms Olesen received her Master of Science in Economics & Business Administration from Copenhagen Business School and is a Danish native.  

About WDF

The World Diabetes Foundation is a leading global funder of diabetes prevention and care projects in low- and middle-income countries. Our vision is to alleviate human suffering related to diabetes among those in greatest need. We pursue sustainable, scalable approaches, helping countries meet global goals for improved care of diabetes and other non-communicable diseases.

Since 2002, the World Diabetes Foundation has provided 182 million EUR in funding to 584 partnership projects in 119 countries. For every euro of WDF funding provided, about 2 euros in cash or in-kind donations are contributed to the supported projects from other sources.

For more information, please visit www.worlddiabetesfoundation.org

Or contact:

Gwendolyn Carleton
Communication Manager
World Diabetes Foundation

Phone:     + 45 30 79 43 09
Mail:       gwc@worlddiabetesfoundation.org